Let there be light!

In a small village in the western part of Sweden, Värmland, i have setup my own observatory. When i first started photographing galaxies and nebulas, i litterally stuffed my car with cameras, computers, tripod, mount, telescope, cables, batteries… the list goes on.

The weather was always freezing, but the sky was clear, at least for maybe a few hours.
Setting the gear up took at the best maybe one hour, the image acquisition at least two hours, if the clouds didn´t roll in.
Packing up the things, in the car, maximum heat on.

Today, i roll off the roof, go inside in my warm house and centering the object, watching the pictures dropping in one by one.

I use moderate equipment, A Skywatcher EQ6 mount, a meade 102mm APO refractor, a Celestron 9,25″ SCT and a Atik 460EX camera with a starlight express filter wheel.
Later on, i will go through the equipment more in detail for you.

View of the milky way from my observatory
View of the milky way from my observatory

Leave a comment